The Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research (IGIDR) invites submissions of research papers for its 20th Macroeconomics and Finance Conference to be held during December 14-16, 2023. The objective of the Conference is to bring together scholars who are engaged in quality research in macroeconomics and finance, and to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas that seek to push the boundaries of existing research, particularly with respect to emerging economies like India.

DAY 1: Thursday December 14, 2023

Keynote Speech


Interest Rate Spreads and the Transmission of Monetary Policy
Kenneth D. West
John D. MacArthur and Ragnar Frisch Professor of Economics
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Special Session


"Breaking the Mould: Reimagining India's Economic Future",
A Book Talk by Dr. Raghuram Rajan

Raghuram G. Rajan
Katherine Dusak Miller Distinguished Service Professor of Finance
University of Chicago, Booth School of Business

DAY 2: Friday December 15, 2023

Keynote Speech


The Central Bank's Dilemma: Look through supply shocks or control inflation expectations?
Amartya Lahiri
Royal Bank Research Professor, Vancouver School of Economics
University of British Columbia

Special Session


Growth Prospects for Indian Economy in the context of Domestic & Global Trends
Arvind Virmani
Hon'ble Member, Niti Aayog

DAY 3: Saturday December 16, 2023

Keynote Speech


The World and India in 2024: Looking Back to Look Ahead
Sajjid Z. Chinoy
Managing Director and Chief India Economist
J.P. Morgan

Dr. Subir V. Gokarn Best Paper Awards

       Subir V Gokarn

Subir V. Gokarn
Former Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India
Former Faculty, IGIDR
       The Dr. Subir V. Gokarn Best Paper Awards will be presented at the Conference to the author(s) of the best paper, the second best paper and the third best paper.The Best Paper Award consists of a cash prize of Rs. One lakh and a citation. The Second Best Paper award consists of a cash prize of Rs. Fifty thousand and a citation. The Third Best Paper Award consists of a cash prize of Rs. Twenty-five thousand and a citation.

Organising Committee

Sargam Gupta
Rajeswari Sengupta
Rajendra Vaidya
Taniya Ghosh (Co-convener)
Jayati Sarkar (Convener)

Conference Secretariat

Ms. Sayli Charatkar
Tel: (022)6909 6530   Fax: (022)28416399/28402752
For any queries, please contact the Conference Secretariat.